David Michie – The Dalai Lama’s Cat

Short, yet interesting book that can be an eye opener, if read properly. It’s not pushing religious beliefs onto the reader, just showing the way to a happier life.

The way I got around to read this book could be called karma, or God-Emperor’s divine intervention. As it was totally random and unexpected, but maybe because of that I am glad I got to read it in the end.

Went to a friend’s house for a birthday party. As usual – when Slovak and Czech people meet for a party – dozens of shots were drank in a rapid succession that afternoon, and many fell asleep by 11 PM. Since I don’t drink spirits that much, it was just me and my friend’s flatmates Daniela and Filip, who stayed up. We continued to have beer and a pleasant chat about everything you can imagine, until the dawn.

As it goes, in the end we also talked about religion, existence of God and such great conversation topics when you are intoxicated. Then, Daniela handed me a book with a cat’s picture, and said: “Just read it. Whatever you think, believe or don’t believe in, just read it.” 

Honestly, I wasn’t keen on reading it, as I was expecting a book about reincarnation, pushing Buddhist religion onto me and making me read about “facts” how it all is true and I have to believe in this or else my soul is doomed. Because of that, the book was left for 2 weeks on my table, until I finally decided to give it a go. And was I in for a surprise!

The story begins

Whole book is written from the viewpoint of a cat. Yes, you read it correctly the first time – a cat. White, blue-eyed cat that got saved by the bell by Dalai Lama, who bought her from some kids on the street. Throughout the book we meet different people, ranging from Dalai Lama himself and his attachés, through monks and all kinds of ordinary people living in the near vicinity of the cloister.

Every chapter is a little story taken from a real life situation (although encountered by a cat), where she tries to figure out what is going on and how to actually deal with it. Often I felt like I was reading Aespo’s fables set in the modern world, tailored to our today’s, modern problems. Of course, solutions often follows within the same chapter.

Food for thought

The cat in this book serves great as a medium to mediate all kinds of ideas and explanations between us – readers – situations in the book, and Buddhist approach to them.

If you are like me and oppose church indoctrination, you can stay calm, this book is not pushing anything onto you, unlike other materials I have read in the past. Nowhere in the book it is said that Buddhism is the only true way of life or the only religion to believe in. It’s even mentioned in the book itself few times via characters or my second favourite Buddha quote: “If you believe in everything I said, you are an idiot.”

Instead, what this book does, is to offer a different take on our problems. Characters in the book are facing real issues that we may encounter – rage, feeling of helpless, indulgence, inflated ego, lack of success, lust, being lost, having to make difficult decision… and offers a solution. Through the words of Dalai Lama or his monks we can see their way of life and their thought processes behind many things they do – or don’t. And if you actually try to digest what you read and see how could you apply it to your everyday life, you may find it a game changing experience.

Honestly, I found out that I was already following some of the advice this book offers (or was quite close to it), without even knowing. Its uplifting mood, easily digestible chunks of knowledge and positivism did surely catch me unprepared and sometimes even made me smile.

The way it is written is great, always makes you want to read at least few pages more and I have finished it in record time (given the way I was reading books at the time). After I finished, I have immediately went online and got a copy for my mom. She got it, read it and loved every single page of it. Now, I hope my dad will read it as well.

Definitely Worth Owning

Yes, this book is worth reading and I am glad to have it as a part of my bookshelf collection. It oozes positivism, knowledge and it was brilliantly written in a non-intrusive way, that I loved.

It’s even worth reading multiple times, so if you fancy a little change in your life, you can read it again, slowly. Giving each idea proper time to think it over, see how you can incorporate it into your life and live better, happier life. All without the need to become religious person or start believing in Buddhism (unless you want, of course 😛).

I really recommend this book to everyone, who is fed up with all the negativity in their life and wants to start making a change.

Napíšte svoj názor

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.